Search
  • paola50122

DELLA ROBBIA SCULPTURE - A RENAISSANCE "INVENTION":A conversation with Marietta Cambareri

Saturday, February, 27th on Zoom 10am Los Angeles/ 11am Phoenix/1pm New York, 6pm London, 7pm Florence It is an absolute delight to welcome Marietta Cambareri, Senior Curator of European Sculpture and Phillips Curator of Judaica, at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, as we discuss one of my favorite Florentine artists, Luca della Robbia! Born in Florence in 1400, at the dawn of the Renaissance, Luca della Robbia developed an innovative technique for applying brilliant, reflective color to terracotta sculpture. Giorgio Vasari praised him for this invention, which made terracotta sculpture “almost eternal”. The secrets of this technique were passed down within the Della Robbia family for generations, and still remain a mystery even today. We will explore this quintessentially Florentine Renaissance art form with Marietta Cambareri, curator of the 2016-17 exhibition Della Robbia: Sculpting in Color in Renaissance Florence (MFA, Boston and National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.). Marietta will share behind-the -scenes stories as well as some of the exciting conservation work done in preparation for the show.

Your donations for this event are gratefully appreciated.

To RSVP: Paola50122@gmail.com


68 views0 comments